Skip to Main Content


Recipient of the Northrop Frye Award for our Simulation Program

The Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work’s Simulation Program was named the 2017 winner of the prestigious Northrop Frye Award at the University of Toronto, in the Departmental/Divisional Category. The award – named in honour of one of the University’s most innovative thinkers — recognizes outstanding success in integrating teaching and research and demonstrating innovation and best practices to peer educators around the world. Our Simulation Program develops and assesses holistic competence in students and prepares them for social work practice.

In 2013 Professor Marion Bogo was awarded the Significant Lifetime Achievement in Social Work Education Award from the Council on Social Work Education in the United States in recognition of her contributions to social work education and to improving assessment of professional competence.


Assistant Professor Ellen Katz was the recipient of the Larry Enkin Innovation in Teaching with Simulation Award, 2018-19 for her use of simulation in teaching. Learn more about her contributions to simulation learning for social work students.

Headshot of professor Toula Kourgiantakis

Professor Toula Kourgiantakis was the recipient of the University of Toronto Teaching Fellowship in 2018-19 for a project focusing on enhancing student’s competence in the assessment of mental health, addictions, and suicide risk using simulation-based learning.