Skip to Main Content

Year 2/Advanced Standing Schedules

COVID-19 impact on practicum courses

PAS Practicum Assignment Process – Practicum 2 course Fall/Winter 2023-2024

Key Dates 2023-2024  SWK4702Y F

Total days in Practicum: 71  (497 hours)

Standard Schedule

  • Wednesday September 13, 2023 start
  • 7-hour days, Wednesday to Friday
Fall term
Start date Wednesday September 13, 2023
Checklist 1: Practicum Safety and Orientation due Thursday September 14, 2023
Fall Reading Week (practicum attendance optional) Tuesday October 10 – Friday October 13
Learning Contract due Friday October 20, 2023
Last day of practicum before break Friday December 8, 2023
Midterm evaluation due Friday December 8, 2023
Checklist 2 due Friday December 8, 2023
University closed (no practicum attendance permitted) Thursday December 21, 2023 – Tuesday January 2, 2024
 
Winter term
First day of classes Monday January 8, 2024
Practicum 2 resumes Wednesday January 10, 2024
Family Day (no practicum) Monday February 19, 2024
Winter Reading Week (practicum attendance optional) Tuesday February 20 – Friday February 23, 2024
Good Friday (no practicum) Friday March 29, 2024
Final evaluation due Thursday April 4, 2024
Last day of practicum Friday April 5, 2024

 

Student Meetings and Workshops

Date Event Registration
Monday September 11 *
OR
Tuesday September 12, 2023  12:00pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #1
Monday October 2 *
OR
Tuesday October 3, 2023  12:00pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #2
Tuesday September 26, 2023
12:15 to 1:15 pm
Location: Room 400 and Zoom
Student Forum on Practicum Matching Zoom registration
Monday November 13 *
OR
Tuesday November 14, 2023 12:00pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #3
Friday December 1, 2023
12:00pm – 1:30pm
Professional Development for Field Instructors and Students: Understanding microaggressions and their manifestations in the MSW practicum
Facilitator: Natasha Prashad, UofT’s Anti-Racism and Cultural Diversity Office
Registration
(required)
Tuesday February 13, 2024
12:00pm – 12:50
pm
Location: 3rd Floor Student Lounge
Me?….A Field Instructor???? 

Panel Event

Registration for Me?….A Field Instructor????(required)
 TBA IPE Workshop for Students in Health Sciences Information available through the Centre for Interprofessional Education (CIPE)
Monday February 26 *
OR
Tuesday February 27, 2024
12:00 – 1:00 pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #4

* Your FFL will provide meeting details (date, time, location).

For Field Instructor professional development events, see the Field Instructor Professional Development Schedule.