Skip to Main Content

Alumni Association

Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work Alumni Association

All graduates of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work are members of the Alumni Association. Through the Association, those who wish may become actively involved in Faculty and university life in a wide variety of ways.

Currently, the Association:

  • offers an annual scholarship and a bursary to students
  • offers a Mentoring Program to graduating students to help ease their entry to employment
  • provides a Facebook page for Alumni to contact one another and exchange information, photos etc.
  • advocates sound social policy as appropriate
  • hosts an annual Distinguished Speakers Series, bringing leading-edge speakers to the Faculty
  • honours current students and Alumni who have made outstanding contributions to the Faculty and/or profession
  • hosts an Annual General Meeting and Spring Reunion

In addition, many Alumni serve as volunteer Field Instructors or Sessional Instructors, participate in curriculum reviews and the selection of new teaching faculty; participate in Faculty governance; and contribute financially to the Faculty.


Connect with the Alumni Association on Twitter and Facebook!

Join the FIFSW Alumni Association Facebook Group

Follow the FIFSW Alumni Association on X 

How to join

There are a wide variety of opportunities for involvement with the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work Alumni Association. If you are interested in becoming involved, or would like more information, please contact the FIFSW Alumni Office. There is no membership fee.

Telephone: (416) 978-4437


Current Executive


Executive Officers

President  Andria Allen
First Vice-President Priyanka Sahajpal
Second Vice-President Michelle Allick
Treasurer  Judy Cerny
Secretary  Terese Weisberg
Past President  Judy Newman


Committee & Sub-Committee Chairs

Constitution Review & Governance
Matthew Regan
Knowledge Transfer
Nominations Andria Allen
Outreach Co-ordinator TBC


Directors – Representatives on Faculty Committees

College of Alumni Electors Terese Weisberg
Faculty Council Rep. (1) TBC
Faculty Council Rep. (2) Pam Weir
Mentor Program Michelle English
MSW Studies Committee Merva Hutchinson
PhD Studies Committee Andria Allen
Practicum Advisory Committee Michelle English
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Andria Allen
Member(s) at Large Matthew Regan


Ex-Officio Members

Dean Charmaine C. Williams
GSA Rep. (1) Gajathree Ananthathurai
GSA Rep. (2) Jemima Utami



The Board of Directors approved amendments to the Constitution of the Association, presented for approval by Members at the Annual Meeting held on July 15, 2020.