Skip to Main Content

Year 1 Schedule

COVID-19 impact on practicum courses

Key Dates 2023-2024

Total hours in Practicum: 469 (67 days)

January 10 – April 5, 2024 – Wednesday, Thursday, Friday (3 days/week)
April 9 – May 31, 2024 – Tuesday through Friday (4 days/week)

Winter term
Practicum start date Wednesday January 10, 2024
Checklist 1 due Day 2 of practicum
Learning Contract due Friday February 9, 2024
Checklist 2 due Friday February 16, 2024
Family Day and Reading Week (no practicum) February 19-23, 2024
Good Friday; no practicum Friday March 29, 2024
Midterm evaluations due Friday April 5, 2024
Tuesday-Friday schedule commences
4 days (if applicable)
Tuesday April 9, 2024
Final evaluations due Friday May 31, 2024

Student Meetings and Workshops

Date and Location Event Registration
Wednesday September 20, 2023
12:15pm to 1:15 pm
Location: Zoom
Competitive and out-of-town practicums Information Session (for Year 1 students doing Practicum 1 in January 2024) Zoom registration (required)
Wednesday October 4 and Thursday October 5, 2023
12:00pm – 1:30pm
Location: 3rd Floor Student Lounge
A Day in the Life of a Social Worker: Panel Discussion  

 

Wednesday or Thursday October 24 and 25
1:00pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Elements and Lab class
Practicum Information Session:
Practicum 1 assignment process
Friday December 1, 2023
12:00pm to 1:30 pm

Professional Development for field instructors and Year 1 and Year 2/Adv students: Understanding microaggressions and their manifestations in the MSW practicum
Facilitator: Natasha Prashad, UofT’s Anti-Racism and Cultural Diversity Office
Registration (required)
Tuesday January 9, 2024
12:00 to 1:15 pm
Locations: TBA
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #1 FFL assignments will be viewable on the Practicum Administration System (PAS) in December 2023.
Tuesday January 30, 2024
12:00 to 1:15 pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #2
Monday February 5, 2024
Location: Zoom
12:00pm – 1:00pm

Student Forum on Practicum
Registration for Year 1 Student Forum (required)
Tuesday February 13, 2024
12:00pm – 12:50pm
Location: 3rd Floor Student Lounge
Me?….A Field Instructor????

Panel Event

Registration for Me?….A Field Instructor???? (required)
Thursday February 15, 2024
Location: Zoom
12:15 to 1:15 pm
Student Info Session:  Practicum Opportunities offered separately from the PAS (competitive practicums, off-schedule practicums, and practicums outside of the GTA) for Year 1 students planning for Practicum 2 in the September 2024 Registration for Competitve practicum info session (required)
Tuesday March 5, 2024
12:00 to 1:15 pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #3
Tuesday April 23, 2024
12:00 to 1:15 pm

Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #4
Monday April 15, 2024
12:00 – 1:15 pm
Year 2 Practicum Matching Information session for students starting Practicum 2 in September 2024 Registration for Practicum Matching Info session (required)

For Field Instructor professional development events, see the Field Instructor Professional Development Schedule.