Skip to Main Content

Year 1 Schedule

COVID-19 impact on practicum courses

Key Dates 2022-2023

Total hours in Practicum: 469 (67 days)

January 11 – April 6, 2023 – Wednesday, Thursday, Friday (3 days/week)
April 11 – June 2, 2023 – Tuesday through Friday (4 days/week)

Winter term
Practicum start date Wednesday January 11, 2023
Checklist I due Day 2 of practicum
Learning Contract due February 10, 2023
Checklist II due February 17, 2023
February 21-25, 2023 Family Day and Reading Week (no practicum)
Midterm evaluations due March 31, 2023
Good Friday; students exempt from practicum Friday April 7, 2023
Tuesday-Friday schedule commences
4 days (if applicable)
Tuesday April 11, 2023
Final evaluations due Friday June 2, 2023

Field Instructor Professional Development 2022-2023

Date and Location Event Registration
Friday December 9, 2022
9:00  to 10:30 am
Via Zoom
Professional Development: Power and Authority 
for field instructors and students
Facilitator: TBA
Registration (required)
Friday December 9, 2022
10:30  to 11:15 am
Via Zoom
Professional Development: Accessibility Supports for Field Instructors
Facilitator: Hannah Jackson, UofT Accessibility Advisor
Registration (required)
Friday December 16, 2022
9:00 to 10:30am
Via Zoom
Professional Development: Orientation and Integrating Theory and Practice
Facilitator: Eileen McKee and Joulaika Buchan
Registration (required)
Friday January 20, 2023
9:00 to 10:30 am
Via Zoom
Professional Development: Reviewing Beginnings and Learning Contracts Registration (required)
Friday March 3, 2023
9:00 to 10:30 am
Via Zoom
Professional Development: 
Mid-term Evaluation
Facilitator: TBA
Registration (required)

Student Meetings and Workshops

Date and Location Event Registration
Wednesday September 21, 2022
12:00 to 1:15 pm
Location: via Zoom
Competitive and out-of-town practicums Information Session (for Year 1 students doing Practicum I in January 2023) Zoom registration (required)
Wednesday October 19 or Thursday October 20, 2022
1:00pm to 2:00 pm
Location: Lab class
Practicum Information Sessions:
Practicum 1 assignment process
Not required
Friday December 9, 2022
9:00 to 10:30 am

Professional Development for field instructors and Year 1 and Year 2/Adv students:  Power and Authority
Facilitator: TBA
Registration (required)
Tuesday January 10, 2023
12:00 to 1:15 pm
Locations: TBA
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #1 FFL assignments will be viewable on the Practicum Administration System (PAS) in December 2022.
Tuesday January 31, 2023
12:00 to 1:15 pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #2
Monday February 6, 2023
Location: Zoom
12:00pm – 1:00pm

Student Forum on Practicum
Registration (required)
Tuesday February 14, 2023
Location: Zoom
12:15 to 1:15 pm
Panel Discussion:
Me?  A Field Instructor?
Registration (required)
Thursday February 16, 2023
Location: Zoom
12:15 to 1:15 pm
Student Info Session:  Practicum Opportunities offered separately from the PAS (competitive practicums, off-schedule practicums, and practicums outside of the GTA) for Year 1 students planning for Practicum II in the September 2023 Registration (required)
Tuesday March 7, 2023
12:00 to 1:15 pm
Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #3
Tuesday April 4, 2023
12:00 to 1:15 pm

Faculty-Field Liaison/Student Meeting #4
Monday April 17, 2023
12:00 – 1:15 pm
Year 2 Practicum Matching Information session for students starting Practicum II in September 2023 Registration (required)
April 2023 – TBA

 

Drop in with questions for Practicum Coordinator about the the Year 2/Advanced Standing Practicum Matching Process.