Skip to Main Content

Profs Newman, Shlonsky and Mishna named inaugural SSWR Fellows…

Categories: ,

Three UofT FIFSW Professors Named Inaugural SSWR Fellows


Professors Peter A. NewmanAron Shlonsky and Dean Faye Mishna were honored as inaugural Fellows of the Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR). The honors were announced at the SSWR 2014 Annual Conference in San Antonio, Texas and are a testament to the strength and recognition of FIFSW internationally.

SSWR Fellows are members who, “by their individual accomplishments, leadership and contribution to SSWR as a scientific society,” have furthered SSWR’s mission “to advance, disseminate and translate research that addresses issues of social work practice and policy and promotes a diverse, equitable and just society.”

The inaugural SSWR Fellows comprise approximately three percent of the Society’s membership. UofT was the only non-US school named and one of few schools with multiple awardees.